The Enemy of My Enemy

Several times during the spring semester I reported on my adventures with algebra. It was a struggle, and I did feel as if I was being attacked from all sides by an implacable foe. Although my victory could not be considered a resounding defeat of the dastardly algebrii, I nevertheless moved forward, on to the next fight. I knew the algebrii would be to my rear, and, as such, could still wreak havoc in my baggage-train unless I paid them close attention at all times.

Well, the battle is joined with Calculus. The fighting is hard, but there has been a surprising development. I have an unexpected, but welcome ally. The algebrii are helping me in this campaign. It seems that having forced them aside, while in the process becoming familiar with their operations, that I have been able to use some of their formations and tactics in this larger fight. Other combatants have reported this strange effect to me, but I would not believe until I experienced it firsthand.

Others in this fight, having managed to flank the algebrii and move forward without battle, are finding themselves attacked in their rear by the unvanquished functions, angles, and graphs of the algebra forces. I, on the other hand, have been strengthened by the fight.

I have a good ally. My chances for victory are much improved.

0 Responses to “The Enemy of My Enemy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

“Life’s hard, son. It’s harder when you’re stupid.” — The Duke.

Education is a companion which no misfortune can depress, no crime can destroy, no enemy can alienate,no despotism can enslave. At home, a friend, abroad, an introduction, in solitude a solace and in society an ornament.It chastens vice, it guides virtue, it gives at once grace and government to genius. Without it, what is man? A splendid slave, a reasoning savage. - Joseph Addison
The term informavore (also spelled informivore) characterizes an organism that consumes information. It is meant to be a description of human behavior in modern information society, in comparison to omnivore, as a description of humans consuming food. George A. Miller [1] coined the term in 1983 as an analogy to how organisms survive by consuming negative entropy (as suggested by Erwin Schrödinger [2]). Miller states, "Just as the body survives by ingesting negative entropy, so the mind survives by ingesting information. In a very general sense, all higher organisms are informavores." - Wikipedia

Blog Stats

  • 30,473 hits

